Our Team

Board of Directors
Lori Arguelles
María Helena Carey
Sean Cosgrove, Treasurer
Angela Haren, Secretary
Samantha Kappalman
Karla Raettig, Chair
Jon Renaut

Claire Jordan, Advocacy and Outreach Manager

IMG_4929Claire Jordan got her start as an environmental advocate from spending her childhood summer and winter breaks in Hayward, Wisconsin, exploring the isolated wooded areas surrounding her family’s cabin and out on the lake. Originally from Chicago, Claire’s passion for environmental justice has taken her all over the globe and in and out of different intersecting environmental issues. She started her education studying plastic contamination of oceans and the impacts on sea turtle habitats, which brought her to food systems and food packaging. Claire received her bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University in environmental science and women’s studies, where she focused on the intersections of social justice and agriculture. Since moving to DC, Claire has been actively involved in the local politics, where she learned of Trash Free Maryland’s work to clean up the Potomac River and Maryland waterways.

As the Advocacy and Outreach Manager, Claire coordinates Trash Free Maryland’s programmatic efforts in conjunction with community outreach, and assists the executive director with general organizational direction. Her role primarily includes policy campaign development, community outreach, and advocacy and logistical support. Claire can be reached at claire@trashfreemaryland.org.

Ashley Van Stone, Executive DirectorScreen Shot 2018-02-12 at 9.55.58 AM

Ashley Van Stone has spent the past decade working in sustainability project management, outreach and education, most recently serving as the Sustainability Manager for Johns Hopkins University. Originally from Baltimore County, Ashley solidified her passion for the environment, communication and human connection while studying at the University of Florida. After earning her B.A. in English Literature, she managed communications and campus engagement programs for their Office of Sustainability. She holds a Master of Business Administration in Sustainable Business from Marylhurst University and prior to her work at UF, she spent time on Florida’s Space Coast working in advertising, marketing and public relations.

As Executive Director, Ashley will have overall strategic and operational responsibility for TFMD. This will include identifying policy and programmatic priorities, establishing success indicators and metrics to monitor progress toward organization goals, and ensuring the sustainability of TFMD through financial management and fundraising, on the ground community development, strategic communications and outreach, and growing and developing the organization and its board.  Ashley also serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors for the Baltimore Community ToolBank. She can be reach at ashley@trashfreemaryland.org